TRP is back in show business! Click here to read about our safety measures. See you soon!

An ATC and Orange Tree Theatre production in association with Theatre Royal Plymouth

Rice

  • Non-socially distanced seating

An ATC and Orange Tree Theatre production in association with Theatre Royal Plymouth

Rice

04 Feb–12 Feb 2022

The Drum
  • Non-socially distanced seating
Close

Select a performance

Close
Fri 4 Feb
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Sat 5 Feb
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Mon 7 Feb
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Tue 8 Feb
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Wed 9 Feb
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Thu 10 Feb
2:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Fri 11 Feb
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Sat 12 Feb
2:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
7:45 pm
£12.00 - £16.00
  • Member Discount - Friend & Up
Rice

On public sale Friday 29th October at 10am. Visit 'Join & support' to become a member and book early!

by Michele Lee, directed by Matthew Xia

Nisha is a young hotshot executive working for Golden Fields, Australia’s largest producer of rice. Ambitious and headstrong, she’s determined to become the first female Indian CEO in Australia. She’s close to sealing a contract with the Indian government, which would see her company take over India’s national rice distribution system.

A secret deal worth billions.

Working late nights in the office she encounters Yvette, an older Chinese migrant, who cleans up her mess. Yvette has her own entrepreneurial ambitions, but her daughter faces court after participating in a protest against the unethical practices of a national supermarket chain.

The two form a powerful – if unlikely – bond as they navigate the complexities of their lives and the world at large.

“A heady broth of gender, generation and globalisation” Australian Stage.

Brimming with wickedly humorous observations on globalisation, politics and family, this is the UK premiere of a powerful new play from Asian-Australian writer Michele Lee, which has won numerous awards including the Australian Writers’ Guild Award for Best Original Stage Play.

Important information

Event type:

  • Non-socially distanced seating

Tickets:
From: £12.00

 

On Sale Dates:

Corporate, Executive, Director & Ambassador Members Tuesday 12th October
Associate Members Tuesday 19th October
Friend Members Thursday 21st October
Supporter Members Tuesday 26th October
Groups & Schools Wednesday 27th October
General Public Friday 29th October